Thyroid and statin

Posted , 4 users are following.

i am on 125 levo. My doctor has recommended 20 statin, based upon one slightly raised cholesterol level. Tells me I am borderline diabetic and may be B12 deficient (awaits blood results).

unsure about taking statins and levo. Had gall bladder removed 30 years ago.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hello Ian:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease.

Statins  like Lipitor must be taken at night.  It is normally ordered at bedtime as that is when our cholesterol levels rise. You must have more than 4 hours separation between the two meds.  Also, Levo needs to be taken on an empty stomach and you need to wait an hour before eating.

If you have high cholesterol you will build a plaque in the arteries and it will cause them to narrow. It prevents Atherosclerosis which is the name of a heart disease. They know more now, about prevention of heart disease, and this invention of cholesterol medication is helpful.

Now you should lower bad fats in your diet. Ex: Butter, lard, eggs,  dairy items, etc...it will help but in some of us cholesterol is a hereditary problem. You can ask the doctor if you can see a Nutritionist who can plan a low fat diet.  This may be a better way to control it as long as you follow the diet plan.

As long as you have a Liver these meds will be absorbed there. If your B-12 is low you can get injections for that. B-12 helps with making new Red Blood cells and energy. Many of us with thyroid problems have low B-12 and Vit D. 

Statins have helped many people.  Some statins can give you a headache as a side effect, but since everyone is different you would have to try it and see.

Being DIabetic is another problem, and that may require oral diabetic pills or insulin.

I hoped I helped.

Shelly

• Posted

Hello Ian: