Thyroid nodule

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi Im a 50 year old woman with a thyroid nodule on right side of thyroid.  Thyroid function is fine and had biopsy 6 months ago which was fine, however the nodule was 2.6cm on last exam and it feels like its getting bigger so am quite concerned and worried about possible surgery and the risks, anyone got anything similar, any advice would be welcomed thank you

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello Annette:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA and I have Hashimoto thyroid disease since 1987.  I am 55 and have 3 nodules that are under 1 inch.

Nodules are caused by infections and viruses and in some people a family trait.  They can make the thyroid go haywire and cause it to go Hyper or Hypo.  They can press on your throat and can make it hard to swallow or breathe.

Most are doughy in feel and some are dense tissue. They can grow bigger and make a lump appear.

I had Ultrasound  and then Fine Needle Aspiration or biopsy to see what the cells are like.  Most are non-cancerous.  Now if they press hard and make it hard to breathe or swallow,  you may have to have them removed.

They must take out the lobe of the gland on which they are located.  You have 2 lobes so  they can take out 1/2 the thyroid gland or the whole gland if many nodules are there.  You need a thyroid and 1/2 is better than none.   Of course this would make you Hypothyroid  and  would be a hard choice to do.  One you lose a portion or the whole thyroid gland, you will have to be on replacement hormone for life.  They also do RAI (radio active iodine) that kills off the gland but you do not have any reversal once done, it will destroy the gland and nodules.

In some people they have cysts which are more fluid filled and they can be drained if they contain fluid. They can tell by ultrasound.

Mine are small so I chose to watch it by Ultrasound.  It all depends on how you feel and how bad it is for you.