Thyroid S Dosage

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi, I new to the site and after some help please.

I've had an underactive thyroid for a few years now and been taking 75mcg of Levothyroxine, my levels have just come back normal (TSH 2.79) but I've been feeling rubbish and my hair is falling out! I decided to try Thyroid S as was taking Amour about 18 months ago and felt better but had to stop due to the price cost and uk import duty.

My question is how much Thyroid S should i be taking? I've been taking 1 tablet a day for about 3 weeks but haven't noticed any change yet and my hair loss is getting worse I have an appointment with my GP next week but know I'm probably going to get fobbed off as my test results state I'm ok.

Thanks

1 like, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

Hello Lisa070877:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA. I have Hashimoto's and that makes me Hypothyroid. I have had this since 1987.

It seems like you have been on LEVO for a while.  Your TSH is  2.79 which is good. Normal is  (0.34-5.60 in USA values).  However, I know how you feel, as I felt that way years ago.

Hair loss is a symptom of having low thyroid and I wonder if Thyroid S is effective enough.  Are you still taking the LEVO?  IS the Thyroid  S in addition to LEVO?

Did your doctor order a T3 & T4 level?  It is important to check these levels as well as TSH.  Maybe you have a mineral problem.  Ask the doctor you see to order a Mineral Panel to include, Potassium, sodium, calcium, iron, magnesium, and ferritin level.  Also a Vitamin D level. If  ferritin levels are low it can effect how the thyroid  meds work.  Many of us with thyroid problems have low Vitamin D levels.  This should be checked out, since Vitamin D is needed for good bone health and muscles in the body.  It is a special blood test and takes a week to do.