Tietze’s and vitamin deficiency?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi all- 

I’ve been researching every symptom I’ve had since first diagnosed a few months ago with costochondritis (and Tietze’s Syndrome, though that was self-discovered). Racing/pounding heart, palpitations, general body aches, muscle spasms, severe headaches. One of the things I’ve largely ignored that kept coming up in search results was magnesium deficiency, which can cause all of those symptoms. 

Tomorrow I’m going to pick up a magnesium supplement (honestly, I’m willing to try anything to get rid of these issues), but I was wondering if anyone here has tried managing/curing costo or Tietze’s symptoms with vitamin supplements (magnesium in particular but I’m interested in any)?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Thanks for posting this message. I too have recently been wondering about taking a Magnesium supplement. In the past I have taken Cod Liver Oil and Glucosamine with Chondroitin supplements, but haven't had success with them, despite having taken then for 3 months.

Currently the things that work best for me are walking for at least an hour a day, very gentle stretches and trying to remain positive and distracted. Bit by bit my arms seem to be moving better. The worst symptoms for me is that I find it hard to sit because of upper abdonimal / chest pains, so any thoughts on this from anyone who reads this would be most welcome. I've been wondering about trying TENS treatment and Acupuncture too. Any thoughts?