Tight rubber band feeling around ankle

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hello all,

I am new to this part of the forum, and not even sure i am posting  my problem to the correct section..but here goes

I am a 50 yr old, having a funny feeling in my ankles for a couple of days. I get the feeling as if I have a rubber band around my ankle even though I have neither socks or have had socks the whole day. It is not painful, but its a tight rubber band feeling which is a little unsettling.

Any idea what this can be, what should I do about it (apart from seeing a doctor that is). Is it serious? Any home remedies for this?

Any help / suggestions are most welcome and helpful.

Thanks a lot!

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

well, it sounds like you might have one of the many symptoms thats associated with peripheral neuropathy, so get yourself to a doctor and have a full blood panel done. I have the same thing...a weird incredibly tight feeling around the feet and toes like someone has wound super tight rubber bands around my feet.

The news isnt good, because if it IS peripheral neuropthy it tends to progress slowly but surely and gte a lot worse...permanently....but the important thing is to move swiftly and start the damage control.

Rule out diabetes, vitamin deficiencies, Lymes Disease, thyroid dysfunction. Also toxic poisoning and nerve entrapment.

Make sure your weight is within normal limits, cause its harder for your body to function if you are obese, and exercise is So important{and so hard to do when you are uncomfortable or in pain.}