Timolol eye drops side effects

Posted , 6 users are following.

My Dr just put me on Timolol eye drops, a beta blocker type.  I have a headache & extreme tiredness, unsteady gait.  Has anyone else experienced this.  

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Yes, Timolol is one of the worst of many. Tell your doctor to switch to Betaxalol and Travatan. You will see the difference and your eye pressure will drop dramatically.
    • Posted

I must say Betaxalol is your favourite eye drops. I tell you these do not suit every one like me. I have tried it thrice over last one year but it had no effect on my IOP. 

wishing you the best

• Posted

I haven't experienced those symptoms. Do you practice punctual occlusion? That will help from getting too much in your bloodstream.

• Posted

Thanks for info.  Yes I do but still cannot tolerate Timilol!

• Posted

I have been using Timolol for four years with no known side affects until possibly now.

I had 6 episodes of fainting/flush feeling on Thursday morning - all within 6 hours.  Finally went to a clinic.  BP was fine, blood sugar was fine, CBC showed nothing wrong with blood, no dehydration, even a clear EKG.  Doctor did ask about the Timolol and mentioned the beta-blocker getting into the bloodstream.

I have an appointment scheduled with my opthamologist in a week and a full physical in three weeks.  Is it really possible these episodes were a side effect of TImolol?

I've never figured out how to block the tear duct before inserting the eye drop.  Does that really help?

Thank you

• Posted

If you are are using the combined Dorzolomide/Timolol drops, just get the Dorzolomide drops without the Timolol. It is the Timolol that causes vertigo.
  • Posted

Does Timolol cause double vision; plus I have heavy tearing in one eye
    • Posted

Christine,