tinnitus

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi everyone,i was diagnosed with tinnitus about 3 months ago.The audiologist that did my hearing test said I have hearing loss in both ears,not surprising really as I'm a carpenter having worked on noisy building sites and still do.The audiologist recommends trying hearing aids and booked me an appointment in my local hospital on 18/7/18.I was told that the hearing aids wont stop or cure my tinnitus but will help me hear more of what I should be hearing and so help with this loud noise in me ears.I was wondering if anyone finds it very loud in the morning when you first wake up.

2 likes, 29 replies

29 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi gaza,

It seems we are all looking for answers on this topic but from what I gather, it's a matter of learning to live with it for most.

Some people have temporary tinnitus following viruses or infections but others have noisy work environment related tinnitus such as yourself and with me ENT think it could be my neck arthritis causing it. Something to do with the nerves in the neck. I think it could be my meds too.

When I went to ENT, my hearing wasn't perfect but was equal in both ears. Nothing prescribed, just listen to delta wave music at night.

I have heard that diuretics sometimes help, may be worth checking it out when you get your appointment. At least it's not long to wait.

Anxiety makes it worse though, I have read that.

If you find a cure you'll be a millionaire!!

Hope you get some relief with your hearing aids.

Best wishes

• Posted

Hi Pattie