Tinnitus for 3 months - how am I ever gonna be happy in life again??!!

Posted , 4 users are following.

I developed tinnitus 3 months ago and mild hyperacusis 2 months ago.

?Dont know the 100% cause of it but I have been listening to loud music through headphones for several years. It was an addiction and a way for me to escape from noise around me (from neighbours) so most likely it is noise induced, but some say it could also be from stress. I have a history of depression and anxiety and I am unemployed which has put stress on me.

?I still struggle really hard and I am thinking about taking my life every single day. I dont see how I can ever be happy again, even if I did habituate I still have to avoid loud places which means I can never go to a club, a party, a concert, a festival ever again??? And what about having children?? babies/children scream/ are loud, so I can never have children??

I cant live like that, I WILL NOT live like that.....for me life is about having fun and that involves partying, going to concerts, enjoying yourself and having children. I am 30 years old for christ sake.....I cant live the rest of my life like an old retired woman. 

?That is not living to me, it is merely existing or surviving which is unacceptable to me. Id rather be dead then. I feel like I have to look out for loud noises always, and it is like walking through a minefield, very scary and stressfull sad 

?And then people say the depression is the problem. I would like to dare anyone to look me in the eyes and tell me they wont be depressed if they had to live their life like that. If they said they would not be they would be complete and utter liars!! OFF COURSE I AM DEPRESSED....

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sandradan