TKR - Advice on new clicking and popping

Posted , 14 users are following.

Hi,

I've had bilateral TKA 10 weeks ago, and recovery has had it's up and downs, but finally as many on this forum have mentioned as you approach 3 months it starts getting better.

I took another forum members advice (thanks Chico!) seriously and got off opioid pain meds (Oxycodone) this past week. And instead have iced-iced-iced. Getting off opioids really change my mental state for the better. I think I was teary and feeling sorry for myself on the pain meds. Remember to slowly wean yourself otherwise you get shakey.

Another member mentioned daily stationary bike. Absolutely great advice, and I'm lucky to have a stationary bike at home. I think that's why I was able to increase my ROM fairly quickly. My ROM is miraculously at 140 and 135, and extension 0.

I started riding my mountain bike around 7 weeks post-surgery on some flat trails near my house. Great for my mental state! Started off really short distances maximum 20 minutes, and now up to 60 minutes.

I still get tired easily, and have to rest or take it easy during the day. But I understand that'll take awhile to get over.

But with all this progress, I developed a loud clicking/popping sound in both knees at about 5 weeks. It's really annoying as it's truly loud. Every step and every movement bending my knees, I hear and feel this clicking. On my left knee, I have a double click, and I actually see my left side muscle above my knee cap bulge with each click. My surgeon had to correct my bowed legs, and I'm wondering if that has to do with it. He and his staff warned me before the surgery that many TKRs click. Well, my husband had a TKR 2 years ago and his knee does not click. Is it the prosthesis that was used? He used Smith and Nephew implants on me. I'm going to see my doc in 2 weeks, and would love to get input from other TKR patients on this.