Tkr today

Posted , 6 users are following.

no doubt I will feel I have been kicked tomorrow, but I'm a nurse and when I had my hip replacement 2 years ago I went back to work after 3 months and was in so much pain and really suffered.. I am hoping I am off for around 5-6 months is this feasible. I certainly don't want to be running around a ward 4 months post op 

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

I’m in an Office Ruth and have gone back really early (4wks post op); however I have raised toilet seat at work; stool and foot rest. I’m still shattered when I come home each day and sleep for 2 hours and this is on phased return 5 hrs a day. I’m bk full time next week (6wks) and to be honest dreading it. I know I wouldn’t cope in a job like yours on my feet all day.  From what I’ve heArd from others TKR is longer recovery so realistically I would think your recovery would be longer. Good luck 
    • Posted

Thankyou so much take care and you must think of yourself and don't be bullied! You have had a major operation!!

• Posted

Thank you Ruth; not being bullied I had to go back sadly due to financial reasons.
  • Posted

I absolutely agree with you Ruth! You don't even want to consider going back until 6 months po. Esp in your job! 

You know TKR is a harder recovery than hip replacement, take as long as you need, the knee is in charge it'll let you know when it's ready!!

All the best

Marilyn 

XX

• Posted

I'm a nurse too but have a talking role,, education,,,, I'm hoping to be back by week 9 but I will see how I am,,,, my work and particularly my manager incredibly supportive..I know in v lucky,,, I can't stay upright more than a few hrs now,,but I'm only day 18 today...

• Posted

When I had my hip replacement I was on a teaching secondment and went back after 3 months I really suffered with the pain! Went Back to early 
    • Posted