Tkr today

Posted , 6 users are following.

no doubt I will feel I have been kicked tomorrow, but I'm a nurse and when I had my hip replacement 2 years ago I went back to work after 3 months and was in so much pain and really suffered.. I am hoping I am off for around 5-6 months is this feasible. I certainly don't want to be running around a ward 4 months post op 

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

6 months off sounds good to me! New knees can be torture if you need to stand for for long. Good luck lovee!
  • Posted

yes most definately its all wear n tear as u know. take ig easy i waiting for 5th tkr it neefs time
  • Posted

Hi Ruth I'm an intensive care nurse😃 I had a LTKR in September and I've only just gone back on a phased return. If you work for the NHS you get full pay for 6 months and then on to half pay. Occupational health assessed me and told me to start on 3x 4 hour shifts in the first week. My second day was awful, it was so busy with alarms going off left right and centre, I couldn't just sit there and ignore what was going on, so I ended up being on my feet for the full 4 hours. I suffered that night and the next day so please make sure you're ready before returning x

• Posted

Thankyou for putting my mind at ease I thought the GP may be bullying me into going back too early.. I'm nearly 60 and ready to retire but I'm not 21 anymore I don't have the stamina like I did so they can go jump till I'm ready and healed and thanks 

• Posted

I had 6 month off work with both of my tkrs . I think you will find knee replacement recovery is more severe than hip replacement. Plenty of physio and exercise , but don't over do it. Rest when you need to, ice and elevate. Do not try to force recovery, you won't be doing yourself any favours. Recovery is a journey not a race, it takes as long as it takes. After almost 20 years since my left tkr and 18 for the right I am still pain free, and everything seems to be ok. I hope they will last as long as I do.