to everyone that is still feeling pain from surgery

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello everyone, I'm new to this. I am a 20 yo male who suffered from 3 spontaneous pneumothoraxes last year in very quick succession. The first one occured on the 22nd of april on my right side. It was small so my physician told me to rest for a month. After exactly 35 days i had another one this time on my left side. It was big and i had to put a chest tube. It was a horrific experience but i didn't have to do surgery yet because 2 months later i had another one on my left side also and had to go under the knife. I have been very paranoid about it happening again on my right side since i didn't do a surgery for this part. I still feel constant pain on both my left and right chest part. After going to multiple doctors and getting the same answer that internal surgery will cause pain and it needs time, I decided to go to physiotherapist who explained to me that there is a membrane called fascia (google it for more info). He told me that you need rehabilitation to get this membrane back the way it was before the surgery. I am going to his clinic next week and start this treatment.

I hope this post helped you discover this idea (about the faschia) since I only found out about it.

Sorry for the long post smile

1 like, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hello everyone, as I said i started physical therapy as a last resort for me to get rid of the pain. I am very pleased to tell you that it is actually working. Since I started I have felt much less pain. My therapist is working on the whole respiratory system from the parasympathetic system to specific muscles. He gave me exercises to make my diaphragm stronger as it turned out it was very weak. This weakness caused my intercostal muscles to have much more load on them and may be the cause of the majority of my previous pains.

That's about it, I hope you are all well! :D

• Posted