To Medicate or To Not Medicate... that is the question

Posted , 4 users are following.

This isn't a discussion; it's more of an argument.

On this website I've seen SO many people advising others to take medication or to proceed with medication, and in my mind, I honestly cannot think of anything worse to say to another individual (whose condition you don't actually know, or the severity of it)  than to advise them to do something without giving any of the precautions, and this is so irresponsible that it's not even funny. Not only that but it shows the weakness in some people to have accepted that there is no other alternative to medication.

"I take medication because I have a chemical imbalance in my brain"

Listen, if somebody says, “you have a chemical imbalance in your brain” I'd say to them, “you can see that just by looking at me?”

Which is odd because one of the greatest stigmas within the scope of mental illness is the fact that nobody can see what is wrong with those who have mental illnesses. A doctor may have a lot of qualifications but I've never seen a degree in clairvoyance hanging on any GP's wall.

There is nothing immediate about any standard of care nowadays unless, of course, you go private, and bearing in mind a lot of people's depression is heavily rooted in financial woes, it's just not sustainable. This is where medication comes in - it is a short term solution that often takes week to get into your system that creates a long term problem because it often takes years to get the damn thing out, and then when you try your best to get it out, you suffer such terrible withdrawal symptoms that leave you feeling as though you need something else to compensate for it.

If your life isn't depressing already, then f**k me medication definitely makes it so.

“Studies have proven...” - studies on me or others? People aren't all the same.

“Depression is linked to...” - ...if anything, a chemical imbalance in my lifestyle more than anything else.