Told its not pmr but osteoarthritis reducing pred.

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi all not been here for a while. Seen rheumatologist and consultant at pain clinic. Been told its not pmr but osteoarthritis. Reducing pred and am now on 3mg a day. I get bad pain in hips and lower back also my shoulders they put this all down to arthritis. They only pain relief I have is paracetamol which doesn't do a lot. First diagnosed in 2017 and given the usual dose of15mg. I then thought it was a miracle cure as all pain went since then downhill and the pain I have now is worse and constant. Any help from this knowledgeable forum much appreciated.

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I am no expert but if it was osteoarthritis why would the pain have completely disappeared when starting pred? I presume you have had x-rays to confirm the new diagnosis? Could it be that the dose you are on is now too low which is why the pain has returned?

• Posted

I have been told to reduce by 1mg a month until zero. I probably won't be able to request anymore. the next rheumy appointment is in 6mths which I have yet to receive. if they are wrong and it is pmr I will be back to where I started. I have had ultra sound and ct scans and xrays too most show arthritis the ultra sound showed inflammation around the joint. now I am on the waiting game until I see a Dr at the end of month.

• Posted

Kathleen please take care. I appreciate that scans/x-rays indicate arthritis but you could still have PMR still running alongside couldn't you? I was in the same position-being on 3 mg, having managed to get myself down from 20, to be told by a doctor at my GP clinic that I needed to get off asap and she was going to reduce my prescription. The result was a massive flare and had to go back up to 12, supported by a more sympathetic GP, to get it under control.

I found this group as a result thank goodness.

9 months later I am down to 4.