Told they probably remove my spleen

Posted , 4 users are following.

About 8 weeks ago, I was suddenly in the worst pain I ever experienced in my life, after arriving at hospital and a CT scan I was informed half my spleen has died, after 11 days in hospital on morphine and tramadol, I was sent home, 2 weeks ago the consultant told me that I will probably need my spleen removed. I have another CT scan tomorrow. The problem is I am a teacher and love my job, today in was asked if I would be able to carry on teaching with the hundreds of new students we face each year all with new germs etc. I couldn't answer, so I have come here hoping someone might have the answer.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Stephen I’m in a similar situation, waiting for my spleen to be removed (mine has a large mass that they cannot say is benign until it’s out) and my date with the knife is next Friday. I work in a hospital (midwife on labour ward) so like you, come into contact with all sorts of bugs. I’ve also questioned if I’m in the right place of employment but love what I do.   I guess there are no guarantees for us.  I wonder if as your spleen has half died it’s function may have declined also with or without the op. You’ll get the immunisations which will help reduce the risks. What age do you teach? Older children might be more hygienic I guess and your story  could be a good biology topic for them with an emphasis on the importance of hand washing and the catch it, bin it, kill it campaign. Maybe you could get a hand gel at the classroom entrance for each child to use on entry as we have in hospitals? I wonder if there are any other teachers hospital staff on here that could give us some tips about  how they cope? 
    • Posted

Hi, Leisa