Topamax...to start or not to start?

Posted , 2 users are following.

I have a history of migraines and recently started having ringing in the ears non stop for about six weeks now.  After going to an ENT, I went to see a neurologist.  After two EEGs, I was told I have a seizure disorder.  Not the convulsing kind, but didn't even know I ever  had a seizure.  Anyway, my neuro wants to put me on Topamax 25mg and gradually get up to 100mg per day.  He warned me of the cognitive side effects and said if I have them to stop taking it and he'd try a different med.  I'm a teacher and we are just starting the school year.  I cannot have memory loss, vision trouble, speech problems, etc. when I am in charge of over 100 students.  I haven't started taking it because I am scared.  Did the side effects come on gradually?  Or build over time?  I am going to get a second opinion.  Also, if I had never gone to the neuro for the ringing in my ears and headache, I would never have known about seizures, so weighing the option of taking no meds until I can get a second opinon.  Any advice would be appreciated.  I am a 50 year old female. 

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted