Torn Tendon. Whether to operate or not!

Posted , 4 users are following.

18 months ago I was in intense agony after a bad fall. I was referred by my doctor to have a scan which showed a total rupture of the Super Epinauex Tendon in my shoulder. The break was one and a half cmts at that time. I saw an Orthopedic surgeon in Bordeaux who told me that he could either operate or I could undergo a course of kinesetherapy, (Osteopathy) treatment in order to try and strengthen and re-educate the surrounding muscles to take over from the torn tendon. I decided to go with the exercises and not the operation. A deciding factor in this decision was that I am on a high dose of anti- coagulants, (Warfarin), due to my having metallic heart valves.

As time went by I became pain free and got back good use of my right arm,. I am an artist and although generally I found that I could do most things ok. Occasionally raising my arm for work would cause increasing discomfort.

Then about a month ago for some reason the pain returned with a vengance. I was referred to another Orthopedic professional this time local to me, and had a Arthroscan.

The result showed that the gap in the torn tendon had increased to 3 centimetres.

The surgeon has now recommended that in order to avoid severe arthritis I should undergo a "Reverse total shoulder replacement" operation.

As I type this on my computer (having to use the mouse in my left hand, because it is too painful to use my normal right arm), I am confused and depressed.

I have an appointment in a week to have a cortisone injection and am considering making an appointment to see the original surgeon in Bordeaux for a second opinion.

Has anyone else had this dilemna ?

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Supra Epineux in English is Supraspinatus.

Also physiotherapy is what I think you mean, not osteopathy.