total knee replacement

Posted , 13 users are following.

I'm a senior but was younger than age before and age was not an issue but now I feel OLD, very lonely, depressed, nauseated, and no compassion for life.  Pain in knee is getting better but still swollen, warm to touch and sharp pains shoot suddenly.  I drove myself to my Dr appt. and did ok... used walker. At least I got out of house. The pain meds were vital at the begining but became less affective and left side effects like big-time hangover, no appetite. this is my first time on forum and would be very nice to hear back from some of y'all out there.

0 likes, 33 replies

33 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi Marge

I am closer to 70 then 65 and now 7 weeks post op.  Very axious and get upset easily at the moment.  Feeling extremely impatient to get back to normal life and sometimes feel it will never end.  Pain and swelling getting better and now walking and driving. Still taken pain meds as needed especially when due to do my 15 min workouts - now take about a third of at the beginning (tend to knock myself out at night as there is nothing worse then being up all alone with a throbbing knee) Still have the shooting nerve pain but the surgeon says that is to be expected.  I do get exhausted trying to carry on with normal daily living which upsets me.

Hang in there as I feel better each week and hear that the 8 week mark is the turning point.

cheers

• Posted

lorraine, glad uron this forum. your words help me realize that "poor li'l Marge's" situation is not unique. lol. Yesterday was a downer but this morning I got up and off to church. This is my 5th week and like you said each day is an improvement. best to you

• Posted