TOTAL RIGHT KNEE REPLACMENT - PROBLEMS

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi

I am 58 and had a total right knee replacement 9th Feb 2016, so just over 5 months ago.  I was up and walking almost immediately and was discharged after 5 days in hospital.  I was doing my exercise that Iwas given and moving around as much as possibe.  I went to physio weekly.  After 3 months I was still struggling to bend it only reaching around 75.  MY physio said that if I couldn't reach at least 90 on the bend I would porobably have to go back to the consultant for a Manipulation Under Anaestetic. 

I am a police officer and lucky enough to be able t attend a rehab centre for a 2 week period with intense physio, so the hospital physio said that she would wait and see how I got on at the police rehab centre.

I did my 2 weeks and only managed at the most 90 but in the whole 2 weeks on maybe 2 occasions. The physio's there said exactly what the hospital physio's said.

I went back to the hospital physio's who referred me back to the consultant and got an appointment almost immediately.

I was told that in cases like mine the next step would be the MUA, however because I was over the initial 3 months post op period he was unable to do the MUA as it could possibly result in fractured bones.  As a result I have been given an appointment in December 2016 to see how it is then and if still cauing problems, will have to have itopened up again and the scared tissue scraped out.

I still can not walk upstairs properly and when I do I end up catching my bad leg on the steps.  I am unable to walk downstairs properly, still one step at a time.  I sit down at work, and even after just 10 minutes of sitting, I struggle to stand and walk straight away.  I still can not bend it the expected minimum of 90.  I am woken at night in pain and it is just getting to me now.

Any suggestions?

1 like, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Did you do exercises on bike,just curious
    • Posted