Totally confused.... Advice really needed, please

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi,

I've been put on B12 injections after my B12 levels were 66. While having an injection I asked the nurse why my levels were so long. She looked at my blood test results on her computer and told me my body was lacking intrinsic factor. She told me I therefore had pernicious anaemia. When I asked further questions about this condition she was very nice and as helpful as she could be but said "I'm just a nurse, you'll need to speak with a doctor."

I therefore made an appointment with the doctor. The doctor told me my haemaglobin level is 16 so therefore, she said, I "do not have pernicious anaemia". She told me I would be anaemic if my haemaglobin level was below 13.5. She said 16 is good for my age - I'm 35 years old and male.

I asked then what was causing my B12 to be so low and she shrugged and said "life".

Can anyone tell me what they hell is going on, please?

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi my levels were 76. I was on PPI for long time. And also I am a pure vegetarian.

I need a small favor. Do u have internal shaking? I am unsteady and have muscle weakness. Just wanted to know if this is a myleination symptom.

• Posted

Hi,

The general feeling of dizziness I had prior to starting my loading dosage of B12 shots a week or so ago has lessened significantly in the past couple of days. 

I do have a feeling of 'internal shaking' - very hard to describe. What I may be feeling is the return of energy after being depleted of B12 for possibly a long period.

Hope this helps. 

• Posted

You are Vitamin B12 Deficient and it is the PPI and your diet that are the most likely to be the causes of it.

The PPI lowers the acidity in your stomach and an high acid level is needed to "grab" any B12 you do get in your diet to carry it down to the lowest part of your digestive system the Ileum from where it gets into your bloodstream.