Tramadol my story Beginning to freedom

Posted , 2 users are following.

I injured my neck in Feb 2017. I went swimming for the first time in years and totally over did it. I am also a beauty therapist so lots of bent neck and repetitive moments via massage etc. 

i am also hyper mobile (super bendy). I was 46 that February so body not as resilient. 

Anyway I had an MRI which showed a bulging disc c3/c4 and loss of fluid in that disc. Surgery was not an option. So began trial and error of drugs. Gabapentine (useless and awful). Naproxen also useless. Diclofenac so/so but not great for asthma. Codeine took the edge off but that was it. I was in pain 24/7. I went to a chiropractor and then osteopath. Both helped to some degree. In August I was so depressed with the pain the doctor put me on 50mg tramadol 1/2 tablets upto three times a day. Of all the meds this helped the most but left me tired, prone to sudden limb spasms and reduced pain by 50%. 

As a AA and NA person with 10 years clean I was not happy taking 4 to 5 tablets a day. By January 2018 I started to feel suicidal because of the chronic pain. I paid privately to go to a pain clinic and had steroid injections in my neck. This helped enormously and the pain started to come back after 3 weeks. I then paid privately to have the nerve burn out. Again a series of injections in the neck but they pass a current through the needle. At first my muscles were in spasm and the pain worst, but this is normal. Around 3 weeks later I was ready to come off tramadol. I was on 4 a day at this point.

Step 1) one day 4, next day 3, one day 4 next day 3 for a week

step 2) one day 3, next day 2, one day 3, next day 2 for a week

step 3) one day 2, next day 1, one day 2 next day 1 for a week

step 4) one tablet a day slowly increasing 24 hours, 36 hours and 48 hours for 3 weeks

step 5) return to chiropractors once a fortnight