Tramadol slow release

Posted , 6 users are following.

hi there my mother in law has been taking 4 tramadol and 4 paracetmol for over 10 years now due to her fibromyalgia. But the last few days the doctors have put her on the 50mg slow release tramadol but since taking this medication she has been awful and sometimes not even getting out of bed which is not her at all. Please can someone tell me if these tablets take a certain time to actually get into your system or if she will feel any better soon

thank you

0 likes, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Sorry Mary I have no experience of slow release Tramadol - I didn't even know it existed and I am wondering what the benefit of slow release is?

regards Richard

• Posted

Hi richard thanks for the reply . The doctor told her to ccome off the tramadol as they are causing cardio vascular disease as she has been on them so long and these slow release ones are suppose to b better and you cNt get addicted to these as they dont give you the buzz that the normal tramadol do
  • Posted

Sadly I find Tramadol the only effective pain relief for neuropathy in my feet so I am stuck with it!
  • Posted

If my sums are right then your mum would have been taking 200mg a day and now is only taking 59mg a day. That is a huge reduction and she could be in withdrawal which is nasty I've been there!! I would speak with her doctor something sounds wrong Jo x
    • Posted

Hi jo thanks for the reply i said exactly the same and the doc said she was just starting on a low dose first so i think shes just testing the water to see how she gets on. I was wondering if anyone new if it takes a certain amount of time to actually kick in. Beacause she said shes goin to carry on just a little lomger and if nothing happens then she will go back to the normal tramadol
    • Posted

Hi Mary