Tranexamic Acid

Posted , 7 users are following.

Does anyone have expeirence with transexamic acid?

My doctor prescribed it to me several months ago after a particularly bad period.  She gave me enough for a week's worth of does, but the bleeding seemed to lessen after that, so I haven't taken it.

Last month I practically bled from period to period.  Then had four days of peace, then this current period started and has been much heavier than normal.  I'm on day 10 and today and for the last three days I've had incidents of heavy clots and flooding passing at work.  I can't really deal with that because I'm a teacher and can't just walk out of class to head to the bathroom, so I'm always afraid it's going to go through my clothes and cause a scene.  

Anyway, I'm thinking of taking the pills.  I have an appointment next week for a biopsy.  We attempted it months ago but she couldn't get her sample.   Then I had an appointment just as my current period started and had to reschedule.  If the bleeding doesn't stop the doctor won't do the test and without the test she won't go any further in terms of helping me with this fibroid situation.  

The information with the pills is a little scary.  Has anyone had these before?  I'm hoping that the success rate is good and there won't be side effects, but I'm always hesitant to take anything.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I was on the pills for about a year to control heavy bleeding. The only reason I stopped taking them was because I became pregnant and did not have to deal with the heavy periods for nine months. I then started birth control after my delivery & taking both is not recommended. I later had a myomectomy about 6 months after my baby so my heavy periods stopped.