transition from child to adult mental health

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi, I'm an OT student and I just wondered what people experience have been from transitioning from child mental health to adult mental health?

Thanks

1 like, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

II am not sure if this will help but I have anxiety all my life. As a child i used to twist my hair in knots and pull it out as a way of relieving stress (Trichotillomania) I had a big bald patch on the side of my head.

I continued anxious into adult life and now have chronic anxiety (GAD)

I can only say that as life has progressed the anxiety has only worsened and is now severe. I wake up severly anxious in a lot of emotional pain and suicidal.

I canot afford therapy which I am desperate to get but feel that it has gone on too long to be treated.

• Posted

don't they have sliding fee scales pay what you can in the UK?
    • Posted

Oh I see what you mean now the transition from child to adult mental health services. I never had mental health help untill I was 25 so have no experience as a child. I grew up in Cork Ireland and there was not openess about my problems then and never saw any professionals as a child, I suffered in silence. I would not have been aware of services and stuff like that was never discussed in the family as my alcoholic dad overtook the family. It was very dysfunctional and abusive so my mother was not able to see there was a big problem with any of the children as she was overwhelmed with him and his behaviour.

Yes I will be seeking out sliding scale therapy here in London, I was told about it a few weeks ago but never went through with it. I am insomniac now but took a valium so will try get some sleep soon.

Good luck with your training

• Posted