Traumatic Aortic Dissection & Multiple Rib Fractures

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi All,Husband collapsed in the garden sustaining all of the above ! He's home now on a plethora of drugs inc warfarin,beta-blockers medics are saying the small dissection was due to the collapse but i wonder if it was the cause of it ?? Any views/experiences welcome also possibility of not driving for 6 months if collapse cause not found ! Angiogram normal for repeat in June.

2 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hello Lynne, I am so sorry to hear this about your husband.  I'm not a doctor but it seems more logical that the aortic dissection caused the collapse.  Do you know what part of the aorta dissected?  I don't know the NHS since I am in the US, but you might want to consider getting a second opinion from a doctor who specializes in aortic aneurysms.  Take care,  Jill
  • Posted

Hi Lynne, Yes it is a major concern for you both Lynne, Unfortunately like your husband I too collapsed in my garden at 56 and only days after saying to the outlaw she needs gravy to take so many pills and ‘hay presto’ I jumped ahead of her in one foul swoop after never taken any pills or seeing a quack, that will teach me!!!. Now a medical wonder apparently and joined a select few who lived through these devastating attacks. The good news: Yes, life has changed, but it is life which would not be possible without the skill and knowledge medically speaking here in the Uk NHS, so a big thanks goes to them all without saying which I am sure you will agree with. The down side: The aftercare sucks! The explanations and communication between your GP and consultant will probably be very poor due to whose responsibility you now are under!! You will find out more from this and other sites than what you will be told by the establishment as they only what to know you after your discharge  as a medical stylistic, not a person who needs help now mentally and other pressing needs!