Trimalleolar fracture recovery

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi everyone! On February 2nd, I slipped ice fishing and fractured my ankle. I have a Trimalleolar fracture, which consists of a fibula break, medial malleolus break, and a dislocation. I was put in a splint, and was supposed to get surgery the following week. When about to go to the OR, they removed the splint to find a fracture blister, which prolonged the surgery until 2/15. I received a plate with 6 screws to the fibula, wiring for the medial malleolus (a screw wouldn’t go through due to it being small) and another screw between my tibia and fibula for stabilization. This screw took recovery from 6 week, to 12 weeks. 

Luckily after surgery, I’ve virtually had minimal pain and seem to be healing okay. I have a 2 week post op appt to get staples removed, take an X-ray, and hopefully get out of this cast and into a NWB boot! I’m so sick of having casts!

I am a last semester RN student, and 12 weeks brings me exactly to graduation. I’m still attending school, but unable to do clinicals due to NWB status. I need to be able to put weight on my foot at least 2 weeks prior in order to make up clinicals to graduate. 

So - has anyone had this type of fracture with the 12 weeks NWB, that was able to walk prior to that? Any tips on recovery? Anyone just as frustrated as I am?! 

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I'm 10 weeks post op. I had the same fracture, so now I'm walking Fwb in the boot. I'm doing well. But one thing that really worked for me is to take 2000 mg of vitamin b3. The doctor said that helped me.

• Posted