TSH levels

Posted , 6 users are following.

I just got my blood test results. TSH is 51.95 and T4 IS .4 What is it? I have gained atleast 30 pounds over four years. Is there any cure for this? Or is this situation alarming? Please advise me before I go to the doctor.

1 like, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Hello Chicoberry:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

TSH is Thyroid stimulating hormone and should be between 0.45 to 4.50 and when the number is at the high end it means you are HYPO or too little and on the low end of the scale HYPER or too much hormone.

Your TSH is off the charts and it means you have HYPOthyroidism. The doctor will prescribe meds for you and your TSH will improve but they start you low and then redo the blood in 6 weeks or so, and then may change the dose of the meds.

Symptoms of HYPO are: feeling cold, weight gain, brittle nails and dry skin, sleepy despite rest, headaches, brain is foggy, no periods or infrequent ones, acne, constiaption and muscle aches, depressed feelings.

So they have thyroid medication and your doctor will most likely give you Levo.  All thyroid meds need to be atken on an empty stomach and you need to wait 1 hour before eating.

T4 is one of 4 hormones made by the thyroid and T4 normal levels should be 9 to 19   Free T4 should be should be 0.82 to 1.77 and you are low in that and that goes along with Hypothyroid disease.

Hypothyroid can be from a nasty virus called Epstein-Barr or Mono and also from a family trait.  It can also be from other medical conditions like Diabetes and Lupus.

It is treatable but not cureable and you must take the meds for life.

I am okay and so will you be and I am 55. 

It also happens in women more than men and hits ages 20 to 45 and sometimes also during menopause.  Avoid Gluten as it bothers Hypothyroid people.

Any questions just ask,

Shelly

• Posted

Thanks for your reply.