TSH out of range, any advice on where to go from here?

Posted , 4 users are following.

This is my first time posting so please bear with me.

I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism (Hashimoto's) last summer.

My first test results were:

Free T4 5.5pmol/L (11-23)

TSH over 100mU/L (0.27 - 4.5) 

I was also deficient in iron, B12 and vit D but these have been treated and are in normal range.

I was put on 50mcg of levothyroxine and tested again with these results:

Free T4 14.6pmol/L

TSH 34.3mU/L

Levothyroxine subsequently increased to 100mcg and final blood test was in November:

Free T4 18.5pmol/L (11 - 23)

TSH 6.4mU/L (0.27 - 4.5)

I was then told my medication would remain the same and I wasn't to be tested for 6 months which will put me in June. I could have cried.

I don't understand how my TSH levels can be out of range and my current dosage be appropriate?

My real issue is that I feel no improvement being on this dose of medication, even though my levels have improved I still have all the symptoms I had before including body pain, anxiety, lack of energy and mood swings

Has anyone been in a similar position and do you have any advice?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

My endocrinologist tests every three months, not six. However you should be aware that changes in medication can take weeks or months to develop a change in symptoms. Even so, I’m assuming that you have been on the 100 dose for at least three months, so if it was going to affect your symptoms you should have seen some change by now.

Overmedication can gave some unpleasant side effects so your doctor is being cautious. Nevertheless I would go back to her or ask to be referred to an endocrinologist.

• Posted

Hi,a'm also hypothetical my TSH, was always high and i use 75mg but my last lab tests were normal the problem is I have the same symptoms like yours I think the only option is to continue with this meds.my question is how long will this end

• Posted