Twisted ovarian cyst?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I'm currently waiting on surgery to remove a 10cm ovarian cyst, my ovary and fallopian tube. In the last week, the pain has become unbearable at times and I have recently been prescribed codeine. But, I am a teacher and the codeine make me really drowsy and I can't take them when I go to work. But, If I don't take them I am in agony! My doctor thinks the cyst may be starting to twist which would explain the pain.

Has anyone got any advice for how to deal with this pain?

My surgery is currently scheduled for 6th July, but this could be pushed back.

I'm so sick of constantly being in pain!

Rebecca x

2 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

If you are really in a lot of pain Rebecca would get to A and e.

Ovarian Torsion is a medical emergency and they will do the operation as quick as possible - that day or within a couple days at worst.

I've had torsions twice caused by dermoid cysts and both times I've been misdiagnosed at first because I wasnt rolling on the floor with the pain.

Don't get me wrong - you would know something is seriously wrong. It's bloody painful and doesn't let up and I was also sick with the pain but the doctors are taught to look for 'excruciating pain' and not everyone deals with this in the way they expect.

Be pushy. If you think things have changed and you are really in a lot of pain then make sure they know it - don't try to be brave. I was very lucky I didnt lose an ovary first time and wasn't lucky enough thr second time .

good luck x

• Posted

Hi Jen,

Thanks for your reply. I am in a lot of pain but feel it's not bad enough to go to A&E! Don't like the thought of clogging up a list when the NHS is stretched enough as it is.

Sorry to hear you ended up losing an ovary. How are you feeling now?

Rebecca x

• Posted