Unable to lose weight with PCOS and Hypothyroidism

Posted , 3 users are following.

I was diagnosed with PCOS last November. My period was irregular for about 1 year before that and around November of last year I had all of my blood work done which showed that I have Hypothyroidism and high androgen levels. I have been taking levotgtroxine and my thyroid level is very close to 1 now. I was prescribed metaformin for my PCOS but I cannot stomach more than 1 500mg pill a day. I have been working with a personal trainer for 6 months now. I workout 3-5 days a week and do HIIT and weight litifing I also meal prep. I am unable to do a low carb diet because I get heartburn very easily. I also take Clonapin for Anxiety and Celexa for depression. I am 5"1 and 195 pounds I was 127 pounds just 3 years ago. I am just trying to figure out how I can navigate these circumstance and get back to my old self.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Ok dear, first thing first. You are way too overweight. Doing HIIT without a low carb is no benefit. Diet is very important in pcos because with a good low carb high protein diet even a 45 min walk can do wonders.

Secondly for androgens, i would strongly recommend you start having 2 cups of spearmint tea daily.

Hope you get well soon. smile

• Posted

And yes, not to worry because anxiety will hinder you journey to get fit. Just stay relaxed. Its a long road but slowly and consistently you will get there.

And you will, thess things will vanish out from your memories. So stay focused and stay calm. wink

• Posted

Hi Amy,

I have been able to lose 65 lbs . I have spent so much money trying to lose weight with several different diets. This is my before and after picture. It took me 5 months to lose 65 lbs. It really was a dream come true. 

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!