Unable to Tolerate Synthetic Thyroid Meds

Posted , 13 users are following.

Greetings,

I cannot tolerate any synthetic thyroid medicine even though I am hypothyroid.  The synthetics cause fatigue and muscle weakness, no matter how low the dose.  Are there some people that cannot tolerate synthetics and have to use natural (i.e., pig) thyroid?

Thank you!

0 likes, 36 replies

36 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello Fishingguy:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease since 1987.

I can't  take Levo because of a T4  converting problem and for many years I took  Armour Thyroid.  I am now on just T3 Liothyronine and am doing well on that alone.

Many on this forum for one reason or another take the Natural Dessicated Thyroid, (NDT's),  and some use Thyroid S and Nature's Thyroid and Thyroid W.

The pig is very close to our human thyroid and was the Original thyroid meds before the synthetic's were made.

If you are in the UK the NHS does not have NDT's (naturals) in their formularies and will not prescribe it so you have to buy it on your own.

I hope this helps you,

Shelly

• Posted

Thanks.  By the way, I have tried Cytomel (T3) and it caused fatigue, "foggy-mindedness", sleepiness and dizziness.  According to my blood tests, however, I am not having a problem converting T4 to T3.  I just find it strange that any level of T3 (at this point) causes extreme fatigue and some muscle weakness, no matter what brand of Levothyroxine I try.

I did recently try Armour, but it caused some side effects as well.  I found out that Armour was bought out twice within the last two years (by two different companies) and since then people have been complaining about the formulation.  I am now looking at compounded NDT to make sure that there are no fillers that I am allergic to, etc.

• Posted

Hi there

I'm the same. Only made the symptoms worse by taking levothyroxine.

I would like to try NDT as I have heard good things about it.