Undiagnosed AAA burst sizes

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've read that it's a 100/1 chance of an AAA bursting that's <5.5cms. How do they know that when it's an undiagnosed burst? It's never been measured when intact. Apparently the measuring of diagnosed AAAs has dubious accuracy so how can they measure one after it's burst?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Michael,

You make a very good point about the Aneursym not having been measured prior to bursting. However, I am not so sure about your comment about the measurement of diagnosed ones being of dubious accuracy. I have an ascending thoracic aortic aneursym of 5.4cm. This has been measured by both Ultrasound Echocardiogram and a CT Scan and the difference between the two was 1mm, so I am pretty sure there is a high degree of accuracy.

• Posted

Fair enough, you're probably right. I'm very new to this game and I think I read something in a scholarly article questioning the accuracy of measurements. The other thing that's bothering me is I continually read that most people's symptoms go undiagnosed yet I'm getting the full array of  symptoms as can be read here:

http://hdfilmcehennemi.info/abdominal-aortic-aneurysm-cardiosmart_59092c38f6065d4f70454267

(you can click on the PDF link for the original article)

and here...

https://www.medscape.com/answers/1979501-30948/what-are-the-signs-and-symptoms-of-abdominal-aortic-aneurysm-aaa