Unexpected codeine withdrawals - please need some advice

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi all

I have been using codeine for the last 2 years which started out innocently enough being prescribed by my GP for an injury. However slowly but surely I became more and more dependent on the drug and without really even realising it I am now taking huge doses each day, mainly before bed and sometimes a top up in the afternoon to satisfy my addiction.

I am ashamed to say I hadn't really even intended on coming off the drug, I love the feeling it gives me and I have become depdendent on it. I know I need to stop but suppose I don't feel ready just yet or that I really want to.

However, my last prescription has been refused unexpectedly. This was not what I was expecting and had used pretty much all of my tablets just assuming that the next prescription would be approved and I would have my next months supply. Apparently the decision is final and cannot be changed.

I am going out of my mind. I found this out last night and don't know what to do. I hadn't planned on this and am now really not looking forward to riding the withdrawals that are about to come. I only have 2 30mg tablets left which is nothing. I am already feeling agitated, needing to swallow a lot (weird) and think it's starting already.

Please can I have some advice for coping mechanisms. Maybe this is a blessing in disguise and is the start of me stopping these awful drugs. But as I say, I was not prepared or in the frame of mind. Any tips on things to take/do to help would be so welcome.

Thanks

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted