Unexplained weight loss

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi, I am new to this and would really appreciate your thoughts and advice.

About 9 weeks ago I got indigestion and heartburn in the bottom of my breastbone (the start of the stomach from the oesophagus) and took some Gaviscon.

This didn’t do anything so after a week I went to the GP who said it could be viral infection as I also had a little cough at the same time.

He give me Omeprazole but said he didn’t think it was reflux but it wouldn’t hurt to take them just in case.

2 weeks later it was still the same so I went back to the GP, who requested a chest x-ray (which came back clear). He also took full blood tests to check Liver, Thyroid, FBC, H-pylori and all came back clear and normal.

I have also just had a endoscopy (camera down) and also a camera up. They found that I have a small hiatus hernia and mild gastritis.

I was prescribed lansoprazole 30mg daliy.

These seem to be working but I have now lost nearly a stone in weight over the past 8 weeks.

I paid to have ultra sounds done last week on my gallbladder, liver, kidneys, prostate, spleen and pancreas. All showed normal.

If all I have is a small hernia and mild gastritis then why am I losing weight despite only changing my diet very slight?

Could this be anxiety and worry as I do feel like they are missing somthing some where or could this now be now more in my head. I have considered could it be diabetes?

I am a natural worrier at the best if times but the weight loss has me generally concerned. I now also haha strange tingling inch around anus area!!

Any help would be much appreciated.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

*haha was typo error sorry and should gave said "have".
  • Posted

Hi legoman,