University After Double Hallux Valgus Surgery.

Posted , 4 users are following.

Good day to you,

I just wanted a bit of assistance from people who have undergone the procedure - preferably those who have had bilateral surgery but I'll take what I can get really. I'm a full-time university student and have been told I have 'moderate to severe deformities in both feet' and I have my pre-op tomorrow. However, if this is performed quickly, I go back to university (forty minutes drive from my home) about five weeks from now (23rd or 24th September) and am concerned about how able and mobile I will be. 

The waiting list for this operation is eighteen weeks which would be mid-December but I have then exams the first or second week of January.

Essentially either way, I'd have between three-four weeks before returning to university. Would this even be wholly possible given the time-frame and do you reckon that I would need a wheelchair for getting around campus? (I'll live about -a fifteen-twenty minutes walk away from campus.) 

Thank you for all your help and apologies for the probably jumbled-ness of this post. Have a wonderful day. 😊

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello.

I had one foot done 22. june and I can't walk properly yet or drive a car with stick (left foot), so when you say two feet at once!!; I would plan so that I had summervacation (is it very painful or can you wait?) or to start off the recovery period. It is however very different fro, person to person, buy it is also very painful and takes a lot of time and energy, so you can't expect to be able to focus 100% on your studies- everything will be quite slow for weeks. I was in the sofa with elevated foot for weeks- and you have two feet. Now 7 weeks later I walk like a zoombie with ine stick and it it still very painful to walk and I am excersicing every day to get the mobility back...but again it is very individual...but don't expect a walk in the park :-) Best of luck Vibeke