Upcoming carpal tunnel surgery

Posted , 4 users are following.

I'm from the US and have been having symptoms of carpal tunnel syndrome for a little over 2 years. I believe it to be work related despite the controversy of CT being a repetitive condition. Workers Comp has denied my claim so I am going forward with having the surgery on my own on May 5. Surgeon does an open mini surgery. When I asked how long I would be out of work - they are going to want to know - he said if my job was light typing I could have surgery on Fri and be back to work Mon. I was very surprised by that! I didn't think you could drive so soon! My job does not involve light typing so he said id be out a few weeks. That's not very descriptive. My surgery will be on my dominant hand and my job involves heavy hand use. I work in a school cafeteria. I spend half my day making sandwiches, cutting them and wrapping them in plastic wrap. I have to lift pans of deli meat, boxes of rolls etc. The other half of my day I work on a touch screen register where I am constantly flexing my wrist. My job also requires a lot of paperwork and writing. I don't think my job will allow me to come back until I am 100%. I am already on light duty due to a previous back injury.

Has anyone else had an open mini release with a heavy hand use job? How long were you out of work? How long in general for recovery from an open mini?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

I would anticipate some 2-4 weeks off that occupation if you are fairly average and there are no problems with surgery. Most of our patients are back to driving for moderate distances by 10-14 days but the intensive sandwich making might be a bit of a strain. Usually the first question to ask when time off work is an issue is - has anything else other than surgery been tried? Dr J Bland
    • Posted