Upcoming UFE procedure - reassurance/advice would be appreciated!

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi everyone! I have been suffering from fibroids for years. I had my first myomectomy to remove 12 uterine fibroids in 2008. It was a great success. However, several fibroids regrew by 2011. I went to have a hysterectomy (I was 35 at the time - no kids). The surgery was unsuccessful because I had formed a lot of scar tissue and they were unable to reach the uterus (full lower abdominal incision for both surgeries). Recovery was horrible for both, though I was much stronger and healthier at the time of my second surgery so my physical recovery was quick - my mental recovery (the anguish knowing I still had fibroids) never really went away. 

There are really no words to describe my pain now. I am a personal trainer/self-defense instructor. However, over the past 6 months I have had to severely reduce my activities because it hurts to even stand for long periods of time - let alone move. As a consequence I've been feeling very depressed. I still try to workout regularly - even if it's a slow walk or light weight lifting, but seeing my health and fitness decline - and my abdomen grow larger - has been tough to take. Honestly, I wanted a hysterectomy, but the scar tissue situation makes it a risky procedure, hence the scheduled UFE.

I have several fibroids, the largest measuring 18x13 cm sad among other large ones. I'm so uncomfortable all the time.

I'm definitely scared of the post-procedure pain, but more than that, I'm apprehensive about how successful the procedure will be. I'm new to the UK and have been dealing with the NHS for the first time. I feel like I've been waiting forever for this procedure. I don't like the idea of going to the hospital for a procedure without knowing anything about the doctors or staff - and they know nothing about me. Will I just be another body on the operating table? I'm trying to stay positive, but it's been tough.