upper abdominal pain ...help

Posted , 7 users are following.

hi all, new to this..... ive been drinking alot for the last 3 years, i've always liked a social drink but for the last 3 i've been self medicating depression with alcohol.

basically i appear to be suffering from what feels like a gnawing ache in my upper abdomen. i feel full almost, its not really pain, just uncomfortable.

has anyone else experienced this? i've not drank for 3 days snd it appears to be getting worse

thanks for the help

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Are you going to the bathroom ok?  Hydrated and eating?  How much were you drinking each day before you stopped?  It's very possible something that will pass, but also possible that it could be something that needs attention.  I would have a checkup from a doctor and tell them the whole situation.  I've self-medicated too and for me, the pain that I was trying to eliminate always came back worse.  A doc might be able to diagnose your pain by simply touching your abdomen and running a few blood tests.  Hopefully, they can also get you in a good place as far as treating your depression.  Are you having any trouble not drinking, like craving or other withdraw symptoms?  There is medication that can help get you through that too to get you on the right track.

• Posted

everything is normal, i eat and drink water. go to the loo normal too. aside from a bit of irritability and sweats i'm ok, not interested in a drink tbh as i'm not sure whats up with my tummy.

i'd usually be sinking between 4 to 8 cans of stella a day, sometimes taking days off, never drink spirits though .

• Posted

Hi have you thought you may have a stomach ulcer. Apart from being a recovered alcoholic i suffer with 3 bowel diseases but am tested also for stomach ulcers due to my symptoms. It's probably worth getting checked out just in case as alcohol will aggravate it !!

• Posted

i thought maybes an ulcer would hurt more , thanks for the response