Upper back ache (left side)

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi there

Just joined the forum. The last 3-4 weeks I've been experiencing pain in my upper back... On the left side, possibly near the shoulder blade but is hard to locate.

I saw a physio yesterday and he treated the local area and gave me a few exercises to do for the next week or so.

This pain has been keeping me up all night and even just sitting or standing, the pain just pulses in and out, a little bit down my arm.

Context:

I'm a pianist. Recently moved house and sleeping on new mattress. Just bought a topper for the mattress as I assume the mattress is too firm - I'm a side sleeper.

Any tips on being able to stay asleep at night? The pain goes right into my arm and only seems to be alleviated when I am in child's pose.

Thank you and let me know if I can provide any more information.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

First things first! You probably have a pinched nerve in upper back under shoulder blade. Go to the chiro and have him/her adjust if its too aggrevated you will need to ice it and wait until swelling of muscle goes down. Your job/side hobby as pianist could be what is causing tension in shoulders. Any continuous sitting arms out looking down like at a desk, driving or in your case piano will eventually cause strain in muscles. Ask a Chiro for exercises to do and do those! Take breaks in between playing. Stop and stretch shoulders, neck, arms. When you sleep try real hard to lay on your back not shoulders on side. Not while you have muscle strain and pinched nerve. It will get worse causing more pain in back and down arm so don't wait. See a back doctor. Also a good professional massage will help. Hope you get better soon!
    • Posted

Thanks for the reply Tina! I have been trying to sleep on my back and it's getting better but most often in the morning, I get pain down my arm (also around shoulder) that forces me awake... Hard to sleep through it.