Urgent Opthalmologist Referral

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello!

I'm new to this and was just looking to see if anyone else has had a similar experience.

I went to the opticians for a standard eye test (including retinal photography) 3 days ago. I have not noticed any acute vision problems, but I am slightly short-sighted and it had been around 6 years since my last eye test.

When looking at the photographs the Optomotrist stated that I have bilateral slightly blurred disc margins and told me that I needed to be referred to see an Opthalmologist urgently, which I found quite concerning. She didn't explain what this could be caused by, but kept reiterating that I needed an urgent referral.

She gave me a referral letter which I have now taken to my GP to refer me.

Has anyone else gone through this process and how soon did you receive an appointment? And should I be concerned by these findings? I am otherwise fit and well and do not take any regular medications, so this was a bit of a shock!  I do get frequent headache, but this has been a long-standing issue and isn't anything new.

Many thanks

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Look up papilloedema. That would be my guess though I have not experienced it and am not a doctor. It came up when I Googled blurred discs plus eyes.

Best wishes hon!

• Posted

I had seen that when I briefly googled - but it sounds quite scary so I'm trying not to read too much into it! I suppose it's just a bit difficult because I have no idea how "urgent" this situation is - and don't know whether to expect an appointment in 2 weeks, 2 months, 6 months etc. I would have thought that if it was that concerning I would have been sent straight to A&E so I guess thats reassuring.

Thank you!

• Posted