Using marijuana to cope with anxiety disorders, need advice or personal stories

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi my names Lauren, I'm new to this blog and I have never posted anything on misusing drugs. I have childhood traumas, and other events leading up to my PTSD, panic disorder, anxiety, and depression. I see a counselor once a week to do emdr therapy. I have been smoking a Lott of cannibas lately. I would say almost every day for the past 2 years and quite honestly it's one of the only things that calm me down and bring me back to reality because of my severe panic attacks. I'm prescribed Xanax but I don't take it all the time because It makes me tired and I'm unable to drive or do things on it. So I smoke cannibas. I'm planning on becoming a nurse...I'm not in the program yet but I will be next year but my anxiety is so terrible sometimes it's extremely difficult to cope and I get blurry vision, I've passed out, vomiting, ect all from anxiety disorders. I feel as though I'm doing a bad thing by using cannibas to help cope only because it's not morally accepted yet to use it for those reasons. I'm 20 years old now and I just need an encouraging story from someone who suffered mentally and was able to get through without using drugs. I have never done anything else but smoke and never plan to.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I have severe anxiety to the point ifsomeone knocked on my door I would have a panic attack. Due to the loss of my babygirl in December 2013 I suffer PTSD (her labour,birth and death was traumatic) the last time I smoked marijuana was when I was 15 years old (I'm now 31) personally I have thought about using again to lessen my anxiety symptoms, but never acted on it