Vaginal discomfort for years, not sure what to do?

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello everyone

This is my first time here and this is the only time I've told anyone about my problem.

For years now, my vagina has been unbearably itchy. In previous years it was more towards the inside of my vagina but now it's just the labia, the lips and more recently, the hood of my clitoris (which is probably the most uncomfortable). There's also so much white discharge that i have to wear a panty liner or change my underwear multiple times a day. A quick search and you would know that it's just vaginal thrush and quite common. However I've got another problem, the part I'm most embarrassed about and why I've kept quiet. The smell. It's just horrible. My vagina (and anal area for that matter) is constantly moist and just smelly. It's to the point where if I squat or sit in a position where my legs are even slightly open, a nasty odour can be sensed. This has caused me such self-esteem issues because I feel dirty even if I'm constantly keeping up with hygiene. It just doesn't make any sense.

This problem confuses me because I seem to have symptoms of both vaginal thrush and vaginosis. Is it one or the other? Is it both at the same time? Is it something completely different? If I was to be given antibiotics wouldn't it worsen the thrush? If I use thrush trratment, how would I get rid of the smell?

A little bit of info on me:

- I have eczema

- I'm a young adult

- I'm a virgin and plan on remaining that way until marriage

- I used to wash my private parts with soap (even before the infection started) until I learnt that it could worsen the infection.

- I wash my privates with water multiple times a day

- I also use dry toilet paper

- the smell is the most unbearable during menstruation

- My vagina (and anus) is the most itchy while on my period. I don't know if it's because of ther actual period or sensitivities to pads.