Vaginal prolapse

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have a prolapsed Uterus and I am waiting for a consultation.

in the meantime, can I excercise or is it dangerous?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

just avoid core exercises and anything that puts pressure on your pelvic floor. No running squats lunges etc. Have been in your position had surgery and this is what the consultant told me

Good luck Sylvia x

• Posted

hi Julie thank you for replying. its taken a while to find a decent site.

i suppose its common sense really but im finding it hard to stay fit.

thanks again. i hope you are doing well after surgery

• Edited

hi SYLVIA, sorry to hear you're having problems. I'm not a doctor ( i am a retired nurse who has had problems with prolapse myself so my response is based on being a patient not a professional). ANY high impact exercise like running, jogging, star jumping during aerobics for example will make your condition worse so is not recommended. you could still do gentle exercise such as swimming or cycling and i would recommend you do pelvic floor exercises at least 3 times a day (10 reps for each cycle). try to avoid undue crouching/ bending or standing for too long too.

I've had previous prolapse repair 3 yrs ago then a hysterectomy 6months ago as first surgery failed....and I'm still having problems so good luck with resolving yours.

• Posted

Hi Shirley

thank you for replying. i guess its common sense really but some sites go on about losing weight and excercising so much im getting paranoid!

sorry to hear you are still not doing so well? it must be very frustrating after so much intervention. i suppose ive got all that ahead of me.

i am also disadvantaged because ive had 2 major ops for pagets disease of the vulva. So my pelvic floor is compromised anyway.

however, ill try my best.

thanks again and I hope you start to feel a bit better or get some good treatment

best wishes

sylvia

• Posted