Valganciclovir

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi folks

Has anybody tried Valganciclovir to treat CFS/ME ?

( I have had HHV6 and it seems some research studies indicate that the drug is beneficial for treating post viral fatigue)

Thanks

Simon

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi, Simon. The doctor you're seeing must really know his stuff to prescribe that drug. Dr. jose Montoya is a very well-respected ME/CFS specislist/researcher at Stanford, here in the U.S. He often uses that drug (also known as Valcyte), which he says can help a certain subset of patients. Good luck with the treatment.

• Posted

Hi Jackie and a happy x-mas to you. I must say that I never cease to wonder how you keep up to date with the latest treatments and your brain always seem to be so clear. I struggle deseprately with an unclear  brain & get so tired when I try to focus on anykind of dense text.  well done you. 

• Posted

Hi, Caitlin. Happy X-mas to you, too. I used to be an editor in another life before this illness. But ME/CFS has definitely scrambled the wiring in my brain. When I post something, I read it several times for errors. I'm constantly reversing letters, mixing up words, putting in typos. What a mess! I just try not to worry about it and move on. 

• Posted

Hello Simon, happy New Year and a healthier one.

My GP told me a few weeks ago that a patient of his had tried this

drug with remarkable effect for the symptoms of his M.E..

The GP was really pleased. However the patient had to buy it on

the internet as in the UK the health authorities will not prescribe it

on the NHS for M.E. patient treatment. It is quite expensive to buy

however.

This patient had been previously diagnosed with glandular fever

at the onset of M.E.. I did some research on this and it appears

from studies that this drug works well in patients showing blood

antibodies having had glandular fever but not in other viral cases