Varifocals after cataract surgery

Posted , 5 users are following.

I opted for a two dioptre difference between my eyes after cataract surgery. My unoperated eye has a small cataract which doesn't affect vision.

The operated eye had developed a white cataract plus had started to wander ie not looking the same way as the good eye.Got used to sight in one eye. Plus partial sight for about two years.

Post surgery I struggled to get used to my new vision.The operated eye is working but had several sea sick moments . Distant glasses were eventually OK.

I've worn varifocals for about ten years and have loved them. Two opticians told me that they would no longer work. Persuaded one to give  them to me  and they are  now OK if sitting still. Very disorientating if moving in a busy place. Not good for work as I am a teacher.

Got re referred back to the hospital. Surgeon was quite aggressive but now confused as to the reason varifocals no longer work.He said that the lense itself ,monofocal,meant that varifocals wouldn't work, claimed that varifocals were a money making scheme. I wanted to say that I had been to two opticians but didn't get the chance.He eventually offered to do my good eye in order to make them match. I still feel unsure what to do. Didn't have a proper conversation with the surgeon..

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted