Venesection

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello all,

I got my diagnosis last week of HH . 

I just got my list to start my venesections. My first starts tomorrow then every week . I’m really Nervous to be honest. Haven’t even given blood before 😢

Do they leave the line in or take it out every time?

Does it hurt? 

Any tips that may help me for tomorrow?

Thank you

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi, i'm also new to this, my ferritin level was 3078, after to phlebotomies i'm at 2600 and have had 2 more since then. I need to have them once a week for 3 months. My suggestion is to keep hydrated during the day and day before....take your phone so you can do facebooking or put it on a music channel. Don't look, breathe, take someone with you as you SHOULD NOT DRIVE after, so you can talk and laugh through it. If you have a good person doing it, the pain should be very little. The tourniquet will be the most uncomfortable, but once they release it its good. Arm may be sore for 24 hours. You will probably be tired after. go home go to bed. YOU GOT THIS!

• Posted

Thanks for the advice. I’ll take in board all that you’ve said.

So glad I found this group 😀

• Posted

Hi, you do not have anything to worry about but my advice would be to make sure you are fully hydrated and have something to eat before you attend your first session.  I too had weekly sessions and they can leave you a bit worn out as they are taking out some good stuff as well as the iron that we do not need.  I made sure I had a litre of coconut water at home which is great for re hydrating.  Do not drink any alcohol on the day following your session as I found out it wasn't a great idea!