Venesections not working

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi I've been following this forum for a while now but this is my first time posting. I was diagnosed with HH 4 months ago and my level was 1270.

I started fortnightly venesections and got my levels checked again after 2 - my level had gone up to 1290! My consultant told me not to worry as this can happen at the start and he said he wouldn't check again until after my fifth.

After the fifth I had gone down by 70 to 1220. He said he was a bit disappointed it was such a small drop but he was hopeful it would suddenly plunge down.

I've kept going but this morning (after my 8th) they told me my levels are up again to 1299 :-(

Im so disappointed and worried that it's just not working for me :-(

I am so tired ALL the time and I have joint pain most of the time. Getting the venesections is no problem but I feel horrible for days afterwards - I just accepted this as part of getting better and getting rid of the iron but hearing today my levels have gone up again has just made me feel so flipping sorry for myself :-(

Just wondering if this has happened to anyone else?

1 like, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

I had slight increases in my numbers but nothing like you're experiencing.  I was able to be deironed in less tha six months but had weekly venesections.  I also watched my iron intake -- stopped eating cereals or anything fortified and red meat primarily.  Also avoided anything with vitamin C and definitely not taking any vitamins with added vitamin C.  The other things that can add to iron absorption is alcohol and sugar, so by avoiding those things may help in the absorption.  You can have high calcium items which I don't believe contains any iron.  I know some don't agree with diet restrictions, but I believe you have to find what works for you.