Posted , 3 users are following.

anybody been on Venlafaxine fod GAD?

does it help?

side effects?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I've known a lot of people benefit from this medicine, and some who haven't.

Mostly positive outcomes are recorded.

It DOES help about 85% of people who take it.

Side-effects are the usual ones for this kind of medicine - dizziness, dry mouth, sexual problems, hard to pass urine - but you'll find all the side-effects in the leaflet that came with the box of medicine.

if you didn't get a leaflet, ask your pharmacy for one - they're supposed to put a Patient Information Leaflet in with all medicines.

I haven't taken it myself, but as a nurse I have seen a lot of people on it.

Don't worry about this next bit - it is now being prescribed for some kinds of dementia lol. They never give up, do they? Drug companies, I mean.

Don't let that put you off taking it, though. Give it a chance. it takes between four and eight weeks to kick in. You may or may not feel side-effects, but they generally go away before or at week five, so stick with them.

Hope this helps,

love Tess xxx

• Posted

thank you for your insight being a nurse its been really helpful

sadly my body didn't react well to venlafaxine i couldn't bare the sick feeling as it made my anxiety significantly worse as my anxiety levels reach a peak when i am sick and often have panic attacks

• Posted

For more information on this drug go on NHS CHOICES on mediation A-Z they give good informed reports, that you would expect

It is importand that you do not stop taking this medication, allow at least five + weeks to benefit

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!