Venlafaxine pros, cons and side effects

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, So I am new to this sort of thing/forums but felt the need to get feedback from others to help me on my journey with Venlafaxine.

I have had bad depression for about 18 months.. previously on mirtazapine and this year moved onto Venlafaxine.. I started on a low dose and now I am on 125mg. Overall I haven't been overwhelmed. It has made things more manageable but it is almost as f**k it blocks out all the depression and I am basically relying on it to get through each day.

Some days I am still very low so I am not sure if it is for me as I just want something to help me steadily and then I can eventually be weaned off.

I stupidly left my medication at work on Friday and have gone all weekend without it. The side effects within just these couple of these has been awful. I have had bad insomnia and then when I do drop off to sleep I am having terrible nightmares, I am crying constantly at everything and feeling more depressed than I have in months, I am looking at life in a negative way, I have awful dizzy spells and keep getting the 'Brain Zapping' I have read about.. this is all just in one weekend.. It is making me worry for when I eventually get weaned off of it in general.. Will it be like this? How long will it last? What can help with it ?

I would like it if anyone could give me any advice.

Thank you !

Moderator comment: I have edited this post due to the swearing. These are open forums so as per the T&Cs please do not use offensive language in posts otherwise they may be deleted.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Laura

I came off venlafaxine a few years ago and as long as you do it slowly over a couple of months it's OK. I'm back on it now (375mg) and ran out of meds for a week, it was awful. It felt like I was dying.

Have you got your meds back today? Once you take them again the withdrawal effects will go in a couple of hours.