Venlafaxine Withdrawl - starting...

Posted , 3 users are following.

I've been on venlafaxine for about 8yrs & I've been thinking for quite sometime that I no longer need to be on it (225mg). As a friend last night said 'that's a b****y cosh'. And they are quite correct; in that time I've never picked up my camera, and I was a good amateur photographer - the last film's not even been taken out. I've barely finished a book. Yadda, yadda, yadda...

I've an appointment with my GP on Wednesday when I am going to bring this subject up. From what I have read Iit appears like it's going to be a long rough road to put it politely. I read some-one saying that they feel the effects even missing one dose - too true! Also people mention driving. BIG problem there. I'm disabled & need to be able to drive. Does this mean that my (already) long suffering wife wil have to do all the driving. Of course the biggy - how long is this going to take(ish)?

I'd appreciate any thoughts, help etc.

it's time for my pills now - I'm starting to sweat & the tinitus is getting worse And this is only a couple, maybe 4 hours later than usual.

Thanks,

JPB

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Good morning JPB,

Firstly, please don't be scared by all the stories that you read on forums because some individuals have different coping mechanisms with illness's and in our case withdrawal symptoms. We are all very different in our abilities to cope with medical issues and I am not going to tell people or you what you should or shouldn't do. Ok, well, I would like to tell you about my experience of withdrawing from Venlafaxine 225mg,which I can tell you is NOT the worst withdrawal symptoms that I have experienced in my life. Seroxat was by far the worst and if my life depended upon it, I would never ever go back onto the drug.